The F. Hunziker + Co AG Family Story

Founded as a trading company for chemical-technical products

Fritz Hunziker, then 25 years old, opened his own bulk and wholesale venture with soap flakes and detergent. With the rise of electric washing machines, however, it soon became clear that the detergent segment would not offer sufficient growth potential. As a result, the shrewd entrepreneur began the search for a new field of activity.

Business card

Cookie and waffle production begins

After moving from Winterthur to Dietikon, Fritz Hunziker began trading in pharmaceutical products, tonics, teas, soups, diverse foodstuffs and natural remedies. During World War 2, he performed his military duties while his faithful spouse kept the business running with dedication despite strict rationing measures. As a result, cookies and waffles were produced in their garage at home for sale in hotels and restaurants in spite of difficult circumstances.

Production takes place in the family’s garage at home on Mühlehaldenstrasse in Dietikon

A corporation was founded and hard candies were added to the product range

After the war, Fritz Hunziker laid the foundation for today’s company, a fully independent family corporation free from any outside influence. Once it became clear that the cookie and waffle business would no longer continue to grow, a colleague from the men’s choir, who was also branch manager at Migros, advised Hunziker to make hard candies to sell to Migros. At the time, Migros had no sugar products in its product range. With a strong will, plenty of entrepreneurial spirit, steadfast resolve, and optimism, Fritz Hunziker began to produce hard candies along with 2-3 employees. Garages were converted into production rooms.

Candy-wrapping machine

First deliveries to Migros cooperatives

The filled boxes were delivered directly to the modes of transport by means of a slide. Initially, horse-drawn carriages and later trucks were used to bring the products to the train, to Migros in Zurich, and to other destinations. The company continued to grow and already employed around 30 employees.

F. Hunziker + Co AG company truck

The company moved to its new production facility on Heimstrasse in Dietikon

The company continued to grow, now employing around 45 people. Fritz Hunziker had great social solidarity with his employees. Considering the time period, he offered them quite generous social benefits. With his dynamic personality, Fritz Hunziker shaped both his company and the cultural political life of the Dietikon community. Over time, he also assumed various important, political offices within the municipality of Dietikon as well as in diverse local associations.

Factory building on Heimstrasse in Dietikon

Fritz Hunziker Junior takes over company leadership responsibilities

Fritz Hunziker Senior (left) and Fritz Hunziker Junior (right)

Powder drinks added to the product range

With the development of powder drinks such as ice teas and isotonic sports drinks, F. Hunziker + Co AG proved to be more than just pioneers in this segment. They soon became today’s largest producer of instant ice teas in Switzerland with a market share exceeding 70%.

Instant tea added to the product range

Due to great successes in ice tea and sports drinks, Hunziker launched delicious instant-powder herbal teas with fennel and medicinal herbs, some of which were even certified as medicinal products.

With foresight, the Hunzikers recognized the trend in sugar-free candies by opening a modern production facility for this purpose at their factory in Dietikon.

Operational management responsibilities handed over to the 3rd generation

Akellas srl., headquartered in Northern Italy, is added to the family holdings

With the acquisition of Akellas srl., the Hunziker Group took its first steps beyond the Swiss border by purchasing one of Italy’s most wellknown and established hard-candy brands.

Halter Bonbons AG becomes a part of the family holdings

In acquiring Halter Bonbons, the Hunziker Group added a tradition-rich company with ample experience in the hard-candy segment while continuing to expand its market position. Halter had long established itself as the market leader in caramel and as one of leading manufacturers of sugar-free hard candies in Switzerland.

Commissioning of one of the world’s most modern gummy-candy production facilities

F. Hunziker + Co AG becomes one of the world’s leading innovators in functional products such as nutritional supplements, medicinal products, prescription-free drugs and foodstuffs. The company continued to invest in the Swiss market and opened one of the world’s most modern gummy-candy production facilities.

Introduction of Health-iX at Migros

In addition to countless products, which are produced by F. Hunziker + Co AG on behalf of national and international companies, nutritional supplements for health-conscious and active individuals are also offered under the brand name Health-iX. A selection of these products is available for purchase at Migros. www.health-ix.com

F. Hunziker + Co AG today

The life’s work of an innovative man, the foundation of which was laid under difficult circumstances in 1930, was to build the company step by step into one of branch’s most modern operations. Today, the company employs approx. 160 members of staff and continues to be successfully operated as an independent family holding in its 3rd generation.

Factory building on Heimstrasse in Dietikon


Aktuelles

Firmengeschichte

Gründung als Handelsunternehmen für chemisch-technische Produkte

Fritz Hunziker, damals 25-jährig, wagt im En-Gros-Handel mit Seifenflocken und Waschpulver den Schritt in die Selbständigkeit. Mit dem Aufkommen von elektrischen Waschmaschinen bietet ihm das Waschmittelsegment aber nicht mehr genügend Wachstumsmöglichkeiten und der gewiefte Unternehmer sucht sich schon bald ein neues Tätigkeitsfeld.

Visitenkarte

Start der eigenen Herstellung von Biskuits und Waffeln

Fritz Hunziker zieht von Winterthur nach Dietikon um und beginnt, mit pharmazeutischen Produkten, Stärkungsmitteln, Tees, Suppen, diversen Nahrungsmitteln und Naturheilprodukten zu handeln. Während des zweiten Weltkriegs erfüllt er seine militärischen Pflichten und seine tüchtige Gattin hält die Produktion, trotz strenger Rationierung von Rohstoffen, mit viel Engagement am laufen. In der Garage des Wohnhauses werden trotz widriger Umstände fachmännisch Biskuits und Waffeln für Hotels und Restaurants hergestellt.

Produktion in der Garage des Wohnhauses an der Mühlehaldenstrasse in Dietikon

Gründung Aktiengesellschaft und Aufnahme der Bonbonherstellung

Nach Kriegsende legt Fritz Hunziker den Grundstein zur heutigen Firma, einer vollkommen unabhängigen Familienaktiengesellschaft, ohne jeglichen fremden Einfluss. Als das Geschäft mit Biskuits und Waffeln nicht mehr richtig wächst, rät ihm ein Kollege aus dem Männerchor, der gleichzeitig Migros-Filialleiter ist, Bonbons herzustellen und der Migros zu offerieren. Denn zu dieser Zeit hatte die Migros noch keine Zuckerwaren im Sortiment. Mit starkem Willen, viel Erfindergeist sowie grossem Durchsetzungsvermögen und Optimismus nimmt Fritz Hunziker mit 2-3 Mitarbeiterinnen die Bonbonfabrikation auf. Dabei werden Garagen zu Fabrikationsräumen umgebaut.

Bonbonwickelmaschine

Beginn der Lieferungen an die Migros Genossenschaften

Auf einer Rutschbahn werden die abgefüllten Kisten direkt auf die Transportmittel, zuerst auf Pferdewagen und später auf Lastwagen für den Transport an die Bahn, Migros Zürich und andere Zielorte geleitet. Die Firma wird weiter ausgebaut und beschäftigt bereits rund 30 Mitarbeitende.

Lastwagen der Firma F. Hunziker + Co AG

Bezug des neuen Fabrikgebäudes an der Heimstrasse in Dietikon

Die Firma wächst weiter und beschäftigt nun rund 45 Mitarbeitende. Fritz Hunziker hat ein grosses soziales Verständnis für seine Mitarbeitenden und bietet für diese Zeit hervorragende Sozialleistungen an. Mit seiner Persönlichkeit prägt Fritz Hunziker nebst seiner Firma auch das kulturelle und politische Leben der Gemeinde Dietikon mit. Dabei übernimmt er im Laufe der Zeit verschiedene wichtige, politische Ämter innerhalb der Gemeinde Dietikon und auch innerhalb von diversen lokalen Vereinen.

Fabrikgebäude an der Heimstrasse in Dietikon

Fritz Hunziker Junior übernimmt die Führung des Unternehmens

Fritz Hunziker Senior (links) und Fritz Hunziker Junior (rechts)

Aufnahme der Produktion von Pulvergetränken

Mit der Entwicklung von Pulvergetränken wie Ice Teas und isotonischen Sportgetränken leistet die F. Hunziker + Co AG nicht nur wichtige Pionierarbeit in diesen Segmenten, sondern avanciert bis zum heutigen Tag zum Grössten Hersteller von Instant Ice Teas in der Schweiz mit einem Marktanteil von über 70%.

Aufnahme der Produktion von Instant-Tee

Aufgrund des grossen Erfolgs in den Bereichen Ice Tea und Sportgetränke, lanciert Hunziker bekömmliche Instantpulver-Kräutertees mit Fenchel und Heilkräutern, welche unter anderem als Arzneimittel zertifiziert werden.

Aufnahme der Produktion von Hustensirup und zuckerfreien Bonbons

Mit viel Weitsicht erkennen die Hunzikers bereits früh den Trend zu zuckerfreien Süsswaren und installieren auch hierfür moderne Produktionsanlagen in ihrem Werk in Dietikon.

Übergabe der operativen Firmenleitung an die 3. Generation

Akellas srl mit Sitz in Norditalien wird Teil der Familienholding

Mit dem Kauf der Firma Akellas srl wagt die Hunziker-Gruppe erstmals den Schritt über die Schweizer Grenze und kauft damit eine bekannte und alteingesessene Bonbon-Marke in Italien.

Halter Bonbons AG wird Teil der Familienholding

Mit der Halter Bonbons AG übernimmt die Hunziker Gruppe ein traditionelles Unternehmen, welche über viel Erfahrung im Bonbonsegment verfügt und baut damit auch ihr Markengeschäft aus. Halter ist seit jeher der Marktführer bei Karamellen und zudem einer der führen Hersteller von zuckerfreien Bonbons in der Schweiz.

Inbetriebnahme einer der modernsten Gummibonbons-Produktionsanlagen weltweit

Die F. Hunziker + Co AG gehört mittlerweile zu den international führenden Innovationstreibern in den Bereichen funktionelle Produkte wie Nahrungsergänzungsmittel, Medizinprodukte, rezeptfreie Arzneimittel und Lebensmittel. Die Firma investiert in den Marktplatz Schweiz und nimmt eine der modernsten Gummibonbons-Produktionsanlagen weltweit in Betrieb.

Einführung von Health-iX in der Migros

Neben zahlreichen Produkten, welche die F. Hunziker + Co AG als Auftragsproduzentin für nationale und internationale Unternehmen herstellt, werden unter der Marke Health-iX Nahrungsergänzungsmittel für aktive und gesundheitsbewusste Menschen angeboten. Neu ist eine Auswahl dieser Produkte auch bei Migros erhältlich. www.health-ix.com

F. Hunziker + Co AG heute

Das Lebenswerk eines innovativen Mannes, der 1930 unter schwierigen Verhältnissen dieses Unternehmen gegründet und schrittweise zu einem der modernsten Betriebe seiner Branche ausgebaut hat, beschäftigt heute ca. 160 Mitarbeitende und wird weiterhin als unabhängige Familienholding in der dritten Generation erfolgreich von der Eigentümerfamilie geführt.

Fabrikgebäude an der Heimstrasse in Dietikon


Aktuelles